Kansas City Running Club


Club History

Founded in 1976 by David Biersmith, Jim McAllister, Jack H Whitaker, and Jimmy Lee Burgess, The Kansas City Track Club has been a cornerstone of running in KC for over 42 years. After visiting Boston and seeing the work of the BAA (Boston Athletic Association) and the success of their group, David and friends decided to start a running club in Kansas City.

The newly formed club grew to be the second largest RRCA club in the nation, behind Atlanta. As a growing group, they were pioneers in the digital scoring of events. In fact, in the beginning they had an Apple desktop at the finish line with a long extension cord going back to their office.

The notoriety of the club grew as members achieved unbelievable feats. Some notable alumni include: Charlie Gray who won the Seattle Marathon Ron Tabb, a 2:08 marathoner Karon Fitts, an Olympic Qualifier Pat Clancy, a top 15 finisher in the Boston Marathon Mark Curp, a ½ marathon world record holder for 10 years As the club evolved, it founded/created numerous runs throughout the Kansas City Metro area such as: KC Marathon, Westport St. Patrick’s Day Run, Groundhog, Trolley Run, Turkey Twosome, and the Broadway Bridge Run for Police to name a few. In fact, the club sponsored the most famous run in the history of running, inside the U.S. Penitentiary in Leavenworth.